The Strang was built in 1901 and opened in 1903 as the Beaver Hotel by Captain Mannus
Bonner at the cost of $10,000. The architect for the building was the local Catholic
priest. The lumber for the hotel was boomed from Hog Island. Captain Bonner
had a dock directly across the street when he kept a small sailboat and offered tours to
the other islands to his guests. It is now a private club and has private docking and a clubhouse
directly across the street for it's members. At one time though, this was one of the
fanciest places to stay on the island and the dining room here had a wonderful chef.