Camp Three Trail

In the early 1900's the Beaver Island Lumber Company was formed.  A narrow gauge railroad ran from the camps on the west side of the island to town, ending where Beaver Island Marine now stands.  Camp Three is no longer standing, but the trail is still there.  Camp Three was reached by a railroad spur from the corner of the south end of the Fox Lake Road and the West Side Road.  Thanks to Dan Wardlow, a property owner on the Camp Three Trail, we can see photos of the trail.  When the Beaver Island Lumber Company left the island they took the railroad and train with them however, every once in a while you can find an old spike that was used to hold the rails to the ties.  

camp3tr1.jpg (86336 bytes)

This is a view north along the trail, about 1.25 miles south of the intersection with the West Side Road

camp3tr2.jpg (73208 bytes)

This view is looking north along the trail at the site of the old Lumber Camp 3

camp3tr3.jpg (96544 bytes)

A view south along the trail, just south of the old Lumber Camp 3

camp3tr4.jpg (77160 bytes)

Looking south along the trail, about one mile south of the intersection with West Side Road

camp3tr5.jpg (74692 bytes)

A view north along the trail, about .4 miles south of the intersection with West Side Road

camp3tr6.jpg (82460 bytes)

Looking south along the trail, about .4 miles south of the intersection with West Side Road

Thanks again to Dan Wardlow for sharing his photos with the visitors to this website.

Home ] Up ] The Big Birch ]

 

                                      Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005    Beaver Island Virtual Tour  All rights reserved.